Posting board positions

TEMPORARY Forum to discuss the layout of the forums here. What should the top-level forums be? What sub-forums are definitely necessary?

Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:35 pm

This is just a test to see if board positions can be posted here. I tried using the Code brackets since I couldn't get the board to line up otherwise. Any suggestions?

Code: Select all
   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O      JVP                      DY        520
   ------------------------------  -> Lucas                              469
01|=     '       =       '   U H|
02|  -   W   "       "       N A|  Game over.
03|    F E   G R I P E R   - L I|
04|'   I D       '   N   B O O K| --Tracking-----------------------------------
05|    L   -       C O Z Y   V  | DY  2
06|  " L I   "     O W   E   E  |
07|    I N     '   O       A D S|
08|=   E T     Q A T S   ' N   L|
09|    s I   V I M ' a     T   U|
10|  "   M   "       P     H " I|
11|    F A S T E N E R - G O   C|
12|' T U T       '   O   A I   E|
13|  A R E     '   ' B   E D   R|
14|  J O   A X       E       -  |
15|=   R ' G U A N A S E '     =|
   ------------------------------
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:36 pm

The board position looks great. Can you post detailed instructions? I'll put them into a FAQ at some point.
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:39 pm

I pasted the Quackle plaintext board into here between the Code brackets, and then added zeroes to the row indicators so the board wouldn't align one space off. It took a little work, but that's the easiest method I've found so far.
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:42 pm

Noctiluca wrote:This is just a test to see if board positions can be posted here. I tried using the Code brackets since I couldn't get the board to line up otherwise. Any suggestions?

Code: Select all
   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O      JVP                      DY        520
   ------------------------------  -> Lucas                              469
01|=     '       =       '   U H|
02|  -   W   "       "       N A|  Game over.
03|    F E   G R I P E R   - L I|
04|'   I D       '   N   B O O K| --Tracking-----------------------------------
05|    L   -       C O Z Y   V  | DY  2
06|  " L I   "     O W   E   E  |
07|    I N     '   O       A D S|
08|=   E T     Q A T S   ' N   L|
09|    s I   V I M ' a     T   U|
10|  "   M   "       P     H " I|
11|    F A S T E N E R - G O   C|
12|' T U T       '   O   A I   E|
13|  A R E     '   ' B   E D   R|
14|  J O   A X       E       -  |
15|=   R ' G U A N A S E '     =|
   ------------------------------


And this is what quoting the board looks like.
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby trashman » Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:07 pm

The board doesn't display properly for me. Is there a way to switch to a fixed-width font?
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:45 pm

trashman wrote:The board doesn't display properly for me. Is there a way to switch to a fixed-width font?


I'm brand-new to PhpBB, the bulletin board system, myself. I'm using Firefox. What browser are you using?
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby trashman » Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:57 pm

slipkin wrote:What browser are you using?


Also Firefox. Version 2.0.0.20.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:04 pm

trashman wrote:Also Firefox. Version 2.0.0.20.


Firefox is up to at least 3.0.5, so maybe that will help.
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby trashman » Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:12 pm

slipkin wrote:Firefox is up to at least 3.0.5.


That version requires Windows 2000 or newer. I have Windows ME, which is the source of all things evil, and likely explains my problem...

Any other suggestions?
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:56 pm

Trashman, does the board I posted not display properly for you, or are you posting one of your own that isn't working? Does everyone else see the board okay, or does anyone have other suggestions on how to do wysiwyg# displays? (actually, the Quackle plaintext boards don't paste in monospace font here. I wonder if having a Courier New option might help, if it's possible).
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby trashman » Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:03 pm

Noctiluca wrote:does the board I posted not display properly for you, or are you posting one of your own that isn't working?


Your board does not line up properly. If there were a fixed-width font option available, it would fix the problem, but I don't see how to do it without a copy/paste into notepad.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby listeme » Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:42 pm

I see it fine in both Firefox and IE -- modern era versions of both :-).
listeme
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:39 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby cesar » Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:53 pm

Seth,

If you look in the administration tools for the forum, you can add your own BBCode tag above (something like "scrabbleboard" or whatever you want to call it). Then you can put your board between [scrabbleboard] tags. You can put a <pre>{TEXT}</pre> as the definition of this scrabbleboard tag. I got this working on the forum I set up, and I believe you don't have to add those 0s, etc to line up the board.

I don't know how to get rid of some of the bbcode, like we don't need the "code" tag, but based on the limited research I did into it I couldn't figure it out. Also, I think it would be super cool if the tag could somehow call a script that would actually display the board with colors, instead of a text version of it, but I don't know how hard that is.
cesar
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Posting board positions

Postby AndySaunders » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:33 pm

Running Firefox 3 on Ubuntu, I see the board just fine.
Andy Saunders
Co-Director, NSA Club#471
http://www.andysthoughts.com/
AndySaunders
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:28 am
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:39 pm

cesar wrote:You can put a <pre>{TEXT}</pre> as the definition of this scrabbleboard tag. I got this working on the forum I set up, and I believe you don't have to add those 0s, etc to line up the board.


Done. Can you test? ("scrabbleboard" it is)

cesar wrote:I don't know how to get rid of some of the bbcode, like we don't need the "code" tag, but based on the limited research I did into it I couldn't figure it out. Also, I think it would be super cool if the tag could somehow call a script that would actually display the board with colors, instead of a text version of it, but I don't know how hard that is.


I could turn it into <img src=" (some cross-tables URL) "> which returns a pretty picture... oooh... but not right now. :-)
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:15 pm

slipkin wrote:
cesar wrote:You can put a <pre>{TEXT}</pre> as the definition of this scrabbleboard tag. I got this working on the forum I set up, and I believe you don't have to add those 0s, etc to line up the board.


I added some helpful text, too:

faq.php?mode=bbcode#f1r0
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby cesar » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:44 pm

Testing scrabbleboard bbcode:

New Player 1: Turn 3
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O -> New Player 1 DFINOST 94
------------------------------ Quackle AGHHIIN 91
1|= ' = ' =| --Tracking-----------------------------------
2| - " " - | AAAAAAABBCDEEEEEEEEFGIIKLLNNOOPQRRRRRSSTTTTT
3| - ' ' - | UUWWYAEJNODMOUYZEGMVAGHHIIN 71
4|' O V O I D - '|
5| E I - |
6| " X " R " " |
7| ' I ' E ' |
8|= P L U t O N S ' =|
9| ' ' I ' |
10| " " C " " |
11| - a - |
12|' - ' L - '|
13| - ' ' - |
14| - " " - |
15|= ' = ' =|
------------------------------
cesar
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Posting board positions

Postby cesar » Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:45 pm

Yep, that seems to work better; you don't have to scroll down to see the whole board and don't need to add any special characters. Looks fine on ie and firefox.
cesar
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:02 am

cesar wrote:Yep, that seems to work better; you don't have to scroll down to see the whole board and don't need to add any special characters. Looks fine on ie and firefox.


Thanks. I added "scrabbleboard" to the BBCode buttons above the posting area, and I removed the pesky "Code" one.
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:10 am

Seth and Cesar, you guys are awesome. That works much better. Thanks for setting it up!

Testing here, just an column indicator alignment issue. Nothing major.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O      JVP                      DY        520 
------------------------------ -> Lucas 469
1|= ' = ' U H|
2| - W " " N A| Game over.
3| F E G R I P E R - L I|
4|' I D ' N B O O K| --Tracking-----------------------------------
5| L - C O Z Y V | DY 2
6| " L I " O W E E |
7| I N ' O A D S|
8|= E T Q A T S ' N L|
9| s I V I M ' a T U|
10| " M " P H " I|
11| F A S T E N E R - G O C|
12|' T U T ' O A I E|
13| A R E ' ' B E D R|
14| J O A X E - |
15|= R ' G U A N A S E ' =|
------------------------------
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby trashman » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:20 am

FWIW, it still doesn't align properly for me.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:31 am

trashman wrote:FWIW, it still doesn't align properly for me.


Bummer. You can at least copy and paste the text into any text edit and choose Courier or any other monospaced font.
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:31 am

Also, use the "scrabbleboard" button above ^^^^^^^^^^^ when you're posting....
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby gplnd » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:05 pm

Just a thought -- on certain movie forums there is a way to post spoilers as blacked out boxes. You just have to highlight it with the cursor if you want to read it. That feature may be useful in the position/strategy forum for posting answers to puzzles.
gplnd
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 1:08 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:39 pm

gplnd wrote:there is a way to post spoilers as blacked out boxes


Added "spoiler" box. See button bar above posting area.


See here for the answer to Life, the Universe, and Everything!

Spoiler:
42
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby cesar » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:11 pm

Noctiluca wrote:Seth and Cesar, you guys are awesome. That works much better. Thanks for setting it up!

Testing here, just an column indicator alignment issue. Nothing major.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O      JVP                      DY        520 
------------------------------ -> Lucas 469
1|= ' = ' U H|
2| - W " " N A| Game over.
3| F E G R I P E R - L I|
4|' I D ' N B O O K| --Tracking-----------------------------------
5| L - C O Z Y V | DY 2
6| " L I " O W E E |
7| I N ' O A D S|
8|= E T Q A T S ' N L|
9| s I V I M ' a T U|
10| " M " P H " I|
11| F A S T E N E R - G O C|
12|' T U T ' O A I E|
13| A R E ' ' B E D R|
14| J O A X E - |
15|= R ' G U A N A S E ' =|
------------------------------


That's a bit strange, i didn't have that alignment issue.. any ideas what's happening here?
cesar
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Posting board positions

Postby slipkin » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:46 pm

cesar wrote:That's a bit strange, i didn't have that alignment issue.. any ideas what's happening here?


I think a coupla spaces got lost in the copy-and-paste. I've seen others that worked great. Not certain.
User avatar
slipkin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: Posting board positions

Postby Noctiluca » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:47 am

Is it perhaps that I copied a complete game instead of one in progress?

Lucas: Turn 4
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O Quackle ABELNNT 171
------------------------------ -> Lucas AAEFIOR 125
1|= ' = ' =| --Tracking-----------------------------------
2| - " " - | ??AAACDEEEEEFGHIIIIIIJKLMNNNOOOOPQRRRRSTTTTT
3| - ' ' - | UUVWWXYYZIABELNNT 61
4|' - ' - '|
5| - U - |
6| " " O P " |
7| ' ' M O G ' |
8|= H E D G E S A ' =|
9| ' V ' ' R ' |
10| " A " " D " |
11| D E |
12|' - I L A C U N O S E '|
13| - B ' ' S - |
14| - L " " - |
15|= ' E = ' =|
------------------------------


Yep, that seems to be it. I just copied to the clipboard both times. A completed game doesn't have the Player:Turn line at the top, hence the alignment issue.
Noctiluca
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:16 am


Return to Forum Structure

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron