Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:39 pm

I'm having problems getting WordBiz/ISC to open/load properly. When I click on the WordBiz icon, the familiar isc.ro screen pops up briefly, but then immediately closes. This has never happened before for me.

I suppose I should mention I've tried using both Explorer and Firefox as default browsers, though I've recently set Firefox as the default. I'm using Vista, if that matters. Anyone else having issues, or have any suggestions?
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby soccerguy » Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:53 am

Are you talking about logging in using the WordBiz application, or logging in via the online applet?
Jesse Matthews - 26 - Vaquero
soccerguy
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:01 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby Graham Haigh » Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:07 am

I remember the same thing happening occasionally. Two suggestions I can make are check you are logged in as an administrator, and check that java is installed.
Graham Haigh
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:53 pm

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:15 pm

soccerguy wrote:Are you talking about logging in using the WordBiz application, or logging in via the online applet?


The application, using the desktop icon. The problem persists. If I attempt to log in via the applet, it takes me to the backup server, which is (IIRC) for contributory members only.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:01 pm

Graham Haigh wrote:... check you are logged in as an administrator, and check that java is installed.


Java is installed, and I can't log in at all. The login screen pops up, but only for a second before it vanishes into a giant black hole...
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby soccerguy » Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:23 pm

Which version of Java do you have? I'd highly recommend downloading the Sun Java VM, as the Microsoft VM is so prone to screwing things up.
Jesse Matthews - 26 - Vaquero
soccerguy
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:01 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:13 am

soccerguy wrote:Which version of Java do you have? I'd highly recommend downloading the Sun Java VM, as the Microsoft VM is so prone to screwing things up.


Version 6, update 17. Pretty sure that's not the issue.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:37 am

I uninstalled, then reinstalled, and now everything's cool.

EDIT: Well, not entirely. I can play one game/session without incident. Then the same problem occurs, and I have to rinse and repeat (uninstall/reinstall). Major pain. So, I'm still open for suggestions.
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby trashman » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:53 pm

soccerguy wrote:...Microsoft VM is so prone to screwing things up.


Well, I switched to MS VM linked via ISC, and now I don't have an issue at all. Other than a much uglier interface. :(

BTW, I'm trashman47 on ISC if anyone is up for a game...
trashman
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby medropout » Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:30 pm

Trashman, I had this problem with Windows 7 too. If you right click your desktop shortcut, you can select "run as administrator," and it should work.
medropout
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:21 pm

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby sjackson12 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:44 am

I have another issue, which is that I have a membership but I can't connect to the backup server using WordBiz, only the web client. I emailed them but these guys aren't exactly responsive.
sjackson12
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:10 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby wheatieDOG » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 pm

It means you're logged in w/ a non-administrative account- right click the Wordbiz icon and click run as administrator - then you're good...
wheatieDOG
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Problems with ISC/WordBiz

Postby Ronnie55 » Sat May 04, 2013 2:39 pm

you need to right click the desktop icon, and open or run it as administrator. problem will be solved. or should be at least. GL =)
Ronnie55
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 2:34 pm


Return to Internet Scrabble Club

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users